Panic

In my line of work I often lead workgroups and give presentations. I am confident in my job and usually have no problem speaking in front of others. But every once in a while the group is larger than usual or the presentation is being broadcast as a webinar. These make me nervous and I suffer a bit of anxiety. This is what my poem “Panic” is about.

Panic

Head spinning
heart racing
the room is much too warm.

Thoughts scattered
nerves shattered
emotionally I’m torn.

Can’t catch a breath.
I need some air.
I want to leave this room.

Oh my God.
No, not yet!
It’s happening way too soon.

They called my name.
I must go up.
It’s time to give my speech.

Here I go
I’m standing up
but feeling very weak.

All eyes on me
I must begin
I open my mouth to speak…

Leave a Reply

